Taking on 2014: Meet the Candidates Night Recap

In March, FCYD Partnered with the Stonewall Democrats Of Central Ohio, the Ohio Young Black Democrats, L.E.A.D., the Franklin County Democratic Women’s Club, the Coalition of Progressive and Democratic Organizations and the Franklin County Democratic Party to host a Franklin County focused Meet the Candidates Night. (Continue reading below)

FCYD President, Jen House, kicked off the event with a speech about the impact that young people have had in recent elections and FCYD’s recent successes. She highlighted that:

  • In 2012, FCYD members spent more than 1,000 hours volunteering for candidates in Franklin County.
    In the fall of 2013, “an off year,” our members spent nearly 200 hours volunteering for candidates and campaigns.  We also helped one of our members, Dominic Paretti, oust incumbent endorsed republican Mike Wiles and get elected to the Columbus school board.
  • 44% of Millennials identify as Democrats. And we’re not just active in politics on Twitter and Facebook, as some say.  According to research conducted by the Young Democrats of America, in all toss-up states that were virtual ties heading into election day, 58% percent of eligible Millennials cast a ballot in 2012.  The same level as all of the eligible voters in those states.
  • FCYD is the largest young democrat chapter in the state of Ohio

After the intro, several statewide candidates addressed the crowd including:

  • David Pepper, Candidate for Ohio Attorney General
  • John Patrick Carney, State Representative and Candidate for Ohio Auditor
  • Connie Pillich, State Representative and Candidate for Ohio Treasurer
  • Sharen Neuhardt, Candidate for Ohio Lt. Governor

There were numerous Franklin County candidates in attendance as well, including:

  • U.S. Representative Joyce Beatty
  • State Representatives Mike Curtin, Michael Stinziano, Heather Bishoff and Kevin Boyce
  • Franklin County Auditor Candidate Michael Schadek
  • Columbus City Councilman and HD-26 Candidate Hearcel Craig
  • HD-22 Candidate David Leland
  • David Young, Chris Brown, Monica Hawkins, Thomas F. Hayes, and Bill Woods, candidates for the Franklin County Court of Common Pleas
  • Jennifer Brunner and Mary Jo Kilroy, candidates for the 10th District Court of Appeals
  • Scott Wharton, candidate for the 15th U.S. Congressional District
  • David A. Tibbs, candidate for the 12th U.S. Congressional District

Everyone who attended the event had the opportunity to meet and mingle with the candidates and ask them questions about the issues that were important to them and their organizations. The turnout was great.  FCYD is planning to partner with these groups to do a similar event in the fall of 2014.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s